Why Flash?

There has in the past been issues with Apple and Flash, so why would I chose to use Flash to create my game? After doing some research on Apple and Flash – digging through all the bad press – I found that since Adobe brought out Flash CS6 there have been less issues between the two. Although Apple do not like the idea of cross platform applications as much as using their own products, Flash still is able to publish to the Apple App store. Adobe (2012) say:

“There are currently more than 20,000 mobile apps and games built using Flash technology available in Google Play and the Apple App Store.”

As I had a key interest in animation, and wanted that to be a part of my game, it made sense that the tool I would use to make animations would be the tool I would use to create my game. I too have my doubts with Flash and Apple, but I thought that this was a prime opportunity for me to take on another challenge during my project, to develop and decide my own opinions by going head first and doing the unthinkable.

I have little knowledge of coding with ActionScript 3.0, so this is something else that I will have to learn as I go through the process of making my game. I have done research into coding with Flash for application games, and found that I need to take the Object Oriented Programming method, as this should make my game run a lot smoother and quicker. Using timeline code would be difficult and run slow with the amount of code and timeline events I would need.

Leave a Reply

