Conclusion

In the end, I was quite disappointed with the outcome of my project. There were big functionality problems that were not solved in time due to my lack of knowledge of ActionScript, and this left the game faulty, incomplete, and not exactly enjoyable to play. Not having a scoring system left the game with no real purpose, which was a huge failure for me.

One of the main reasons I chose to use Flash was because I wanted to get back into animation, but as the code ended up overloading me, I never ended up getting to play with Flash as I had hoped. This meant that I could have used another language and program to make my game, that would have made more sense and been better compatibility with Apple, as I didn’t manage to use Flash for what I wanted to anyway.

I think my biggest weakness in the creation of my game was my lack of knowledge of ActionScript, I took a risk and chose a language that I didn’t know much about at all. This in the end let me down. If I’d have had the time I should have spent a few weeks prior to starting the project to get my head around ActionScript, this would have then started me off on a much more solid ground, giving me more time to focus on the troublesome pieces of code.

At the beginning I, as others did, had my questions and doubts about Flash and Apple. Using Flash to create for Apple was actually very simple, it was easy to test and debug problems, and very easy to put onto the phone itself. I was very aware of how the quality differed when it went from previewing on Flash to previewing on the iPhone, the quality was no where near as good as I thought it would be. This may have been down to a fault of my own, creating images that were too detailed for it to handle. But then that means that I couldn’t create a game with the detail I’d wish for with Flash. Still, I wouldn’t discard Flash as many others had. I’m still quite intrigued to do something with Flash that works perfectly for iPhone, I feel my game could have the potential, it just needs to have more work done to it to get it ready for that stage.

Leave a Reply

